About Us

Speculum Juris is an open access peer-reviewed law journal published by the Nelson R Mandela School of Law at the University of Fort Hare. The journal publishes a range of well-written, original scholarly works covering a wide range of legal issues of contemporary relevance. It is published in two parts annually.The journal has been accredited by the Department of Higher Education and Training for the publication of subsidised research outputs. All articles submitted for publication are subject to anonymous peer review by experts in the relevant fields.

The articles published in the journal do not necessarily reflect the opinion of the editors or of the School of Law.

Editor in Chief

Prof Cephas Lumina   (Research Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Fort Hare)

Advisory Board

Hon Mr Justice CM Somyalo (Patron)
Hon Mr. Justice D Moseneke
Hon Mr. Justice C T Sangoni
Professor W T Twining
Hon Mr. Justice C M Plasket
Professor G Devenish
Professor S Liebenberg
Hon Justice Dr. W. Mutunga
Professor E Knoetze
Professor JR Midgley
Professor B.J Holden-Smith
Mr. N Swart
Professor T Monsoor

Editorial Committee

Prof Cephas Lumina,                                   
Editor-in-Chief & Research Professor, University of Fort Hare

Adv Shandukani Muthugulu-Ugoda           
Associate Editor & Lecturer, University of Fort Hare

Associate Editor

Prof Patrick Osode                                      
Professor, University of Fort Fare

Technical Editor


Editorial Assistant